Toy Story 3

"Toy Story 3"

It takes quite a lot to motivate me to get out of bed at 6.00am on a Saturday morning. What’s that? The first UK press screening of Toy Story 3? Hmmm, yeah, I think that ought to do it! Fifteen years since the original Toy Story charmed audiences worldwide, Disney Pixar’s latest film is undoubtedly this summer’s most hotly anticipated release. Just as the kids who first met Woody (Tom Hanks) and Buzz (Tim Allen) are now in their late teens or early twenties, Andy is all grown up and ready to head off to college. The inevitable bedroom clearout results in the toys being left in a black bag which Andy’s mum mistakes for trash and the new adventure begins. I’m not going to go any further than that in regards to plot synopsis. Part of the reason I enjoyed the film so much was the fact that I didn’t know what was coming next and I wouldn’t want to spoil that for anyone.

A word of advice – don’t look out the original films on VHS before going to see the latest instalment. It must be at least eight years since I have seen either Toy Story or Toy Story 2 and my experience of Toy Story 3 was all the better for it. Like Andy, I felt I had moved on, but I have come to realise that I will never be too old for Toy Story. The characters are all so familiar, it just feels like revisiting old friends that you haven’t seen for years.

Everything Pixar touches seems to turn to gold. A rat with a passion for cooking? Preposterous! Yet somehow it works. They have an unparalleled ability to make films that appeal to adults and children alike and the animation bandwagon shows no signs of slowing down. The audience of largely middle-aged journalists which surrounded me was frequently in hysterics and they’re not exactly the easiest sort of people to please. This was the last film I saw at the EIFF 2010 and it was the undisputable highlight of my time in Edinburgh.

Fear not dear readers! James Williamson will soon be reporting on the last few days of this year’s festival. Stay tuned.

Ross Dickie

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

